running a fridge

miss jones

I haven't yet looked at buying a fridge but I am only buying a 3socket hook up atm, but not sure how the fridge would work while driving or if I don't have a hook up site, also I'm not very good with electrics,I intend on being an outdoorsy camping chef or with a geroge forman and gas stove so won't have gas either only incase of emergencies
All info would be massively useful :)

jimbohorlicks

Hi
you dont say how much space you have or what van you have for the fridge to go in
Have you thought about a 12v cooler box-which you can run off your batterries whilst driving and switch over to a leisure battery battery when you stop?

There are some condensing fridges available now , similar to home ones that can be run off a 12v battery but the battery will need to be kept charged up -solar panel etc and they are not that cheap.

MATS

As long as you disconnect when you drive off no problems, or get a 100km cable drum - ok for distances up to that limit.

M

miss jones

Hi
you dont say how much space you have or what van you have for the fridge to go in
Have you thought about a 12v cooler box-which you can run off your batterries whilst driving and switch over to a leisure battery battery when you stop?

There are some condensing fridges available now , similar to home ones that can be run off a 12v battery but the battery will need to be kept charged up -solar panel etc and they are not that cheap.

oh yeh sorry! that would help!!
it's a vivaro, there isn't much space, so it will be the size of a small caravan one, leisure batteries aren't exactly cheap either, is there anyway you could plug it into a 12v when driving and electric when you've stopped?

jimbohorlicks

Hi
I suppose if you were on 240v hook up you could use a transformer from 240v to 12v -plenty of those about , but again its an extra cost I suppose.