Which Van

WAK1

Hi guys,

We're a family of 6 and are looking to self build...but which van? Wife thinks either an extended lwb/lwb but i prefer the merc vario 814 as i think the kids will appreciate the space.

1. Is there much difference in the drive between the two
2. Fuel and servicing costs comparable?
3. Any difficulties in driving through villages
4. Do campsites accept the vario due to its size?
5. Any advice of where to purchase from

Thanks for the advice

From a total newbie

RV2MAX

Forum Member
First consideration is what driving licence you have as weight is major consideration , when choosing what you can drive?convert

wildebus

Forum Member
so you will have C1E as well then I guess. (D is for minibuses)

Size wise there are plenty of A Class vans much bigger than a Vario used on Campsites so that is not a factor at all.

You know, for a self-build for 6 people I would be inclined to look at vehicles like full truck (7.5t) conversions rather than a big van base.

Millie Master

Forum Member
Finding a van which is capable of housing and transporting 6 people is an enormous ask, it hence totally rules out any of normal Sevel/Sprinter/Master sized vans.

It all depends on how independent you want to be when travelling, if on the one hand you would only ever stop on fully serviced and hence expensive caravan sites then you can possibly get away without a shower, however you might feel that a toilet would be essential, but in so saying, I would very much doubt if any of the commercially available Thetford type toilets would have a large enough holding capacity to cater for such enormous quantities of excrement and urine.

As for the chosen vehicle, yes a Vario 814 might just be made to fit, but it would be a big ask to fit in all you would need to make your conversion anything other than a very significant number of compromises, however a local bus might prove to be capable of just such a task https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/173749288765