Callipers - Cheap or Not ?

SquirrellCook

Forum Member
Colourful !!!
We can't use the basic mitutoyo's due to our harsh environment. We use the coolant resistant ones. Sadly we have to replace them as every six months as they wear out.

As for the cheapies, I often wondered why when you picked them up they didn't work. So makes sense to remove the battery.

Sprinter 1 cup

Forum Member
Boot fair 1 pound I'm not an engineer yet.lol 15932728411365756599011112862228.jpg
15932728411365756599011112862228.jpg
15932728411365756599011112862228.jpg

Nabsim

Forum Member
I have had my vernier callipers years and aren’t digital. Not sure if you could buy digital ones when I got them. I started with verniers and micrometers back in 1968 though lol

wildebus

Forum Member
I bet you'd struggle to find a modern engineer that knows what a vernier scale is, let alone read one.
I remember checking the battery on my V-TECH laptop with the original BMV ....
1593282676964.png

But it is true that when I did my O Levels, calculators were not allowed as only the rich kids had them so they had to level out the playing field. But we were allowed Slide Rules and my Maths Teacher found some DIY Kits so we could make our own (Slide Rules usually being more expensive than Calculators!)

Sprinter 1 cup

Forum Member
We weren't allowed slide rules in the o levels, only log tables! and you try telling kids today.
What ever happened to reddyreconers? (Help if I'm wrong please.)
If I spelt it wrong ! Book Had the multiple tables up to if I remember right 100 X . While kids in Lewisham bridge were looking / remembering with repation 2 up 12 timestable up to 12, iwent up to 99x99 with that book.lol
I love numbers.

Nabsim

Forum Member