Some Gas Help Please ?

Deleted member 4404

I'm no expert on gas fires, but to go out suddenly I would suspect the thermocouple.

Squiffy

Forum Member
I tend to agree that if it suddenly went out then the thermo couple would be my first thought. As for buying one I have found that usually a third party thermo couple can usually be found to fit. Phil

Squiffy

Forum Member
Sorry to be replying in bits and pieces, but looking at the photo once again Robert I would hazard a guess and say that the slot just below the temperature wheel should accommodate the thermocouple tube so as it would be out of the way from damage by the wheel itself, looking carefully it looks as though the tube has sustained damage just on the bend below the temperature setting wheel. Thermocouple tubes will take a lot of abuse but when they do start leaking they cause all sorts of problems from low gas flow to no flow at all, even a leaking one can if heated by a fierce pilot light give a good gas flow until enough fluid has leaked out to drop pressure inside the tube to either make the main burner go down to almost nothing or suddenly go out. Phil

RAW

Forum Member
I know nothing about gas but one daft thing comes to mind ..... got enough gas in the bottle?
Yes it is full as LPG to fuel vehicle also fills Gas bottle for Habitation so pretty much constantly full unless LPG for fuel runs out

Also thanks @Squiffy for your replies. I am struggling to get thermocouple out and understand how it all works.
Taken fire apart again and it lights but does not emit much heat.
Temp control knob screws down onto something

Guess I just get a new Thermocouple and hope it is that

Thanks for all your help guys and links Phil

Squiffy

Forum Member
Just another thought Rob, have you got other appliances using the gas like a gas ring or oven and if so are they working correctly, as LPG propane gas regulators have a tendency to pack up and not deliver the correct gas pressure.Phil

P.s